Call us on 02 6940 2100

Cootamundra Shire Council

Cootamundra Shire Council is a local government area in New South Wales, Australia. It is on the Olympic Way, the Burley Griffin Way and the Main South railway line.

The Shire includes the town of Cootamundra and the small towns of Stockinbingal, and Wallendbeen.



Cootamundra Shire Council is composed of nine Councillors elected proportionally. The Mayor is not directly elected.

The current makeup of the council is as follows:

  • Jim Slattery (Mayor)
  • Dennis Palmer ( Deputy Mayor)
  • Paul Braybrooks OAM
  • Rod Chalmers
  • Stephen Doidge
  • Mary Donnelly 
  • Doug Phillips
  • Craig Stewart
  • Rosalind Wight


Senior Staff:

General Manager - Ken Trethewey

Director Engineering Services - Gary Arthur

Director Corporate Services - Kate Monaghan


Executive Services:

Cootamundra Development Corporation, Strategic Plan, Council, Committees, Legal, LGSA, REROC, Sister Cities 


Engineering Services Division:

Airport, Depots, Plant, Road Safety Program, Saleyards, Stock Control, Works Contracts, Public Cemeteries Function, Parks, Sporting Grounds, Swimming Pool Function, Public Toilets, Stadium, Companion Animal Control, Asset Planning, Council Buildings, Emergency Services, Environmental Assessment, Mapping, Noxious Weeds Function, OH & S & Risk Assessment, Water Reticulation, Sewerage System, Treatment Works, Effluent Reuse, Stormwater System, Waste Management, State Roads, Regional Roads, Bitumen Shire Roads, Footpaths & Cycleways, Gravel Shire Roads, Town Streets, Town Lanes, Village Streets  


Corporate Services Division:

Annual Returns, Human Resource Management Function, Information Technology, Library Services, Delivery Plan, Operational Plan, Policy Development, Bush Fire & Emergency Management, Building Regulatory, Economic Development, Land Portfolio, Land Use, Strategic & Regulatory, Food & Health, Social, Culture & Community, State of Environment Reporting, Tourism, Budget Development & Control, Certificates, Debtor/Creditors, Financial Planning, Payroll, Revenue Policy, SEWOLG, Financial Statements, Caravan Park Function, Arts/ERAP, Bradmans Birthplace, Community Groups, Customer Service & Reception, Events Co-ordination, Records Management, S355 Committees, Website